Product Review | Boots, Alba, & Dr. Bronner’s

I frequently visit Target whether I’m bored or actually need something for my house. It is easily one of my go-to stores since it offers decent stuff, fair prices, and a nice selection of beauty products, home décor, clothing, and accessories. I usually get my face wash and body wash from Target. I like trying the different natural beauty supplies because I have extremely sensitive skin and they usually don’t irritate it.

AnywaIMG_0942y, during my last visit to Target I needed to restock my body wash, face wash, and make-up remover wipes. I wanted to try some new stuff because the products that I had just used up weren’t my favorite things in the world and were making  my skin extremely oily. Typically I have combination skin, so it’s oily on my cheeks and chin, and then dry just about everywhere else. I also have super sensitive skin in general because I have Eczema which, if you don’t know what it is, is a really annoying skin condition. This makes it difficult to find body washes that smell good and make me feel clean, but do not irritate my skin, which again is why I try out the natural lines that Target carries because they usually are really nice and don’t irritate my Eczema.

The products that I ended up purchasing were Dr. Bronner’s Magic Soaps Pure Castile Soap, Alba Acne-dote Face & Body Wash, and Boots No 7 Quick Thinking Wipes. (I will put links at the end of this post if you would like to check these out.) I have used these products for a week now and I think I can actually supply a proper review and share my impressions of these products since I’ve had time to adjust to them. Without further hesitation let’s review these products.

Dr. Bronner’s Pure Castile Soap – $16.99

The Dr. Bronner’s line comes in a few different fragrances. I decided to go with the one that has Tea Tree in it because it’s winter and gross outside. I’ve heard nothing but good things about Tea Tree oil. I figured why not? The Dr. Bronner’s Magic Soap is actually multipurpose soap that is vegetable oil based as opposed to animal fat or oil based. The multiple uses of the soap honestly scared me a little bit and is why I haven’t purchased this product before, but I have heard positive things about the line from a friend so I felt a little better about purchasing it. On the bottle I believe it says there are 18 different ways that you can use this product. I have been using it as a body wash. Some other uses include laundry soap and a cleaning product. Maybe I’ll test out some of the other uses in the future. For now I’ll stick to body wash.

After using Dr. Bronner’s Soap, I would have to say that I am impressed with it and I want to try some of the other scents. The fragrance lasts well after I have gotten out of the shower, something that I can’t say for a lot of the body washes that I’ve used in the past. Even though the fragrance remains, my skin actually feels clean after; a lot of body washes don’t really do for me, especially if they smell amazing. I do find it a little drying but it’s not anything that a little lotion can’t fix. Other than that, I don’t have a single complaint about this soap. I definitely recommend purchasing it.

Boots- No 7: Quick Thinking Wipes – $6.00

I love using make-up remover/ cleansing wipes, especially at the end of late nights where I may not go through my whole face cleansing routine because I am much too tired. I decided to give these No 7 ones a try partially because of the name and partially because I have been using other products from the No 7 line lately and really like them. I do think that this is a little more on the pricey side for wipes, as far as drug store brands, but you do get a lot in the package so it evens out.

IMG_0945

I’m not overly excited about this product but it does do a good job of removing my eye make-up. Usually eyeliner is the main makeup product that I have difficulty getting rid of and these wipes seem to do a really nice job of removing it. As you can see from the photo, two wipes may be necessary to remove all visible make-up. These wipes do an okay job getting the bulk the first time through but just to double check its nice to use a second one once over on your face.

Alba- ACNEdote Face & Body Scrub- $6.99

I have used Alba products in the past and I didn’t really like them, but I have never tried to ACNEdote line.  I am happily impressed with this product. It is an exfoliating face and body scrub, but I only have been using it on my face.  I like that even though it is an exfoliator it doesn’t dry the hell out of my face and it’s not super harsh, which makes it great to use daily. I like the grainy texture of the face wash and my face feels completely clean after using this. I highly recommend using this product.

All products can be purchased at your local target or you can click the links below and order them:
http://www.target.com/p/dr-bronner-s-magic-soaps-pure-castile-soap-tea-tree-32-oz/-/A-14304919#prodSlot=medium_1_6&term=Dr+Bronners
http://www.target.com/p/boots-no7-quick-thinking-4-in-1-wipes-30-count/-/A-10586005#prodSlot=medium_2_20&term=Boots+No+7
http://www.target.com/p/alba-acnedote-face-body-scrub-8oz/-/A-13322971#prodSlot=medium_1_19&term=alba

*The opinions I have given on these products are what I thought about them. I am not being paid or sponsored by any of the companies for these reviews.*

Leave a Reply

