2014 Goals | Read 10 Books | Book #3: The Fault in Our Stars

Now that the semester is over I actually have time to read for leisure again. The next book to add to my list is The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. This book was a goal within a goal because I wanted to finish reading it before the film came out -I had roughly a month to read it. Not that I thought it would take nearly that long, but hey, things come up. Lucky for me, I didn’t need that whole month to read the book. Honestly, I couldn’t put it down. I read the book start to finish in 20140509-223124.jpgthree days (probably less if you remove my breaks for exams and work) because the writing was just so good.

I liked this book a lot, but I was surprised that I didn’t cry at all reading it. Without giving away any spoilers, there were parts where I figured out what was going to happen well before it happened (like 4 chapters before) so when it finally happened I wasn’t surprised and it didn’t give me any kind of emotional shock.

I’m usually not a fan of romance novels, or novels that are primarily romantic in one way or another, but Green wrote this book an amazing way. Parts of the narration sounded as if I was listening to my friends tell me a story, and the romance scenes contained some sarcastic levels to them that added the perfect amount of humor, and reality to the story. I would read this a million times over a Nicholas Sparks book (sorry) for that simple factor.

Not only was this book a good love story, it was good overall with showing how struggle and fight really shape people. I can’t wait to see the film.

 

Any suggestions for other books, please comment them below. I have to read 7 more.

♥Mo

 

Leave a Reply

