2014 Goals | Read 10 Books| Book #5: Palo Alto

Here we are again. Another book added to the list, and another book turned film that I wanted to read before viewing the film.

James Franco is one of my favorite actors, and I’ve wanted to check his books out for a while. I heard Palo Alto was being turned into a film and I wanted to read it when I found out, but then I forgot and while I was in New York City seeing James Franco in Of Mice and Men, Palo Alto premiered at the Tribeca Film Festival. I was beyond stoked. About a week or two later I found 3 last copies of the book at a local book store so obviously I purchased it.

This was another  book that was made up of mini stories. Unlike the Ellen DeGeneres book… I loved it! Each character had their own personality and story that I found relatable. I could make a personal connection to each story whether it was because of a personal experience or an experience that I vicariously experienced through friends or family members. For me Palo Alto was an aerial look at High School and the complexity of teenage life that most people overlook or mistake for teenage angst. The stories were so well written that I flew through the book, finishing it in roughly 3-4 days. I also found myself wonder what stories, or parts of stories, were real events that had happened and which were made up solely for entertainment purposes.

Currently I am looking for a show time near me for the film. Once I see it I will review it and compare the two. I will also be ordering a couple more of James Franco’s books in the near future.

Have you read Palo Alto? What were your thoughts?

Until next time…happy reading,

xo
♥Mo

Leave a Reply

